Embassy

The Embassy of the Russian Federation in the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg is to be found in one of the most beautiful locations in the city, in the Chateau de Beggen. It has hundreds of years of history. Initially on the site was a paper mill, built in the XVIII century and which existed until the middle of the XIX century. In 1865, the land was acquired by Metz & Co which at the time was building a metallurgical plant nearby in Dommeldange. In the 1880s a villa was built on the land but, unfortunately, it burnt down in a fire in January 1894. In its place in 1894-95 an architect from Brussels M.Janssens built a castle in the neo-Renaissance style, the Chateau de Beggen, and subsequently a park was created around the Castle.

After the death of the first owners of the chateau, Emil Metz and his wife, the Castle was bequeathed to the Director General of the metallurgical concern “ARBED” E. Mayrisch and the couple’s nephew G. Barbanson. The latter lived in the Castle until May 1940, but prior to the Nazi occupation of Luxembourg he  fled to the south of France. During the years 1940-1944 the Castle housed the service personnel of the Wehrmacht.  From October 1944 to September 1945, subdivisions of the U.S. military were installed in the “Chateau de Beggen” apartments. It was during this time that the Castle was significantly damaged.

When Barbanson died in 1946, his widow and daughter waived their rights to their inheritance, and the property passed to a charitable fund called “The Fund of E. Metz-Tesch’s widow” set up in 1913. On 2 March 1948, the governing council of the fund decided to sell “Chateau de Beggen”. In 1949 a Belgian businessman Jean Van der Planck, became the owner of the Castle and later sold it to the company “Chateau de Beggen”for 4.2 million Belgian francs. From 1950 to 1956 the property was used as a hotel named “Hôtel des Forges”.

In early 1956 the castle was leased to the Embassy of the USSR in Luxembourg. During the Hungarian Revolution of autumn 1956 the mission was attacked by a group of demonstrators. The ground floor of the castle sustained considerable damage.

On the 5th of June, 1973 “Chateau de Beggen”and an adjacent 2.8 hectare plot of land was acquired by the Embassy of the Soviet Union for 8.5 million franc. In the 1980s 10 sculptures were installed in the territory of the Embassy which had been gifted by some of the Soviet Republics of the former USSR.

From 2005 to 2009 the castle underwent extensive renovation and reconstruction, and the interiors were restored to their former glory. Today visitors of the Embassy can admire the beautiful and elegant interiors, which match visitors’ ideas of great and glorious Russia; it is now a place where Russian nationals can feel comfortable.

dsc8457_740_490

dsc8414

dsc8406

dsc8391

dsc8385

dsc8378

dsc8374

dsc8346

dsc8321

dsc8317-1

dsc8279_740_490

dsc8315

О посольстве

Посольство Российской Федерации в Великом Герцогстве Люксембург располагается в одном из красивейших мест города, в Замке Бегген. Он имеет столетнюю историю. Когда-то на его месте находилась бумажная мельница, построенная в начале XVIII века и существовавшая  до середины XIX века. В 1865 г. земельный участок был приобретен фирмой Мец и К°, строившей в это время неподалеку, в Доммельданже,  металлургический завод. В 1880-х годах на участке возводится вилла, но, к сожалению, она сгорает дотла во время пожара в январе 1894 года. В 1894-95 гг. под руководством брюссельского архитектора М.Янссенса на ее месте возводится замок в стиле нео-ренессанса. Затем вокруг него разбивается парк.

После смерти первых владельцев шато, Эмиля Меца и его супруги, замок по завещанию перешел в собственность директора метеллургического концерна «АРБЕД» Э.Майриша и племянника четы Мецев Г. Барбансона. Последний жил в замке до мая 1940 года, а накануне оккупации гитлеровскими войсками Люксембурга бежал на юг Франции. В 1940-44 гг. в замке располагаются службы тыла вермахта. В октябре 1944 г. — сентябре 1945 г. в “Шато де Бегген” квартируют подразделения армии США.  В это время замку наносится существенный материальный ущерб.

Г.Барбансон умирает  в 1946 году. Его вдова и дочь отказываются от прав наследования, и замок переходит в собственность “Фонда вдовы Эмиль Мец-Теш” — благотворительной организации, созданной в 1913 г. На заседании Совета управляющих фонда 2 марта  1948 г. принимается решение о продаже “Шато де Бегген”. В 1949 г. владельцем замка становится бельгийский предприниматель Жан Ван дер Планке, который перепродает его Акционерному обществу “Шато де Бегген” за 4,2 млн.б.фр. В 1950-1956 гг. здесь располагается отель под названием “Отель де Форж”.

В начале 1956 г. замок сдается в аренду открывшемуся в Люксембурге посольству СССР. Осенью 1956 года в ходе венгерских событий посольство подвергается нападению группы демонстрантов. Помещениям первого этажа был нанесен заметный урон.

5 июня 1973 г. Акционерное общество “Шато де Бегген” продает замок и прилегающий к нему земельный участок размером в 2,8 га посольству СССР. В 80-х годах на территории посольства было установлено 10 скульптур, направленных сюда в качестве дара от  ряда  союзных республик бывшего СССР.

C 2005 года по 2009 год в замке проводился ремонт-реставрация, в результате которой были максимально точно восстановлены уникальные интерьеры замка. Сегодня приходящие в посольство гости восхищаются красотой и изяществом интерьера. Он прекрасно сочетается и с представлениями иностранцев о великой и блестящей России, здесь уютно ощущают себя и российские поданные.

dsc8457_740_490

dsc8414

dsc8406

dsc8391

dsc8385

dsc8378

dsc8374

dsc8346

dsc8321

dsc8317-1

dsc8279_740_490

dsc8315